Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Cooking Class: Explore Plant-Based Ethiopian-Inspired Cuisine

September 7 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm EDT

Wednesday, Sep 7, 2022
From 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. ET || 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. PT

Virtual
Online

Learn to make a plant-based Ethiopian-inspired meal with Buffalo’s own Chef Alexa!

 Join AARP New York and attendees from around the U.S. for a FREE virtual event on Wednesday, September 7, 2022, at 11:30 a.m. ET | 10:30 a.m. CT | 9:30 a.m. MT | 8:30 a.m. PT  – AARP membership not required. This event is part of a series.

 Get your kitchen passport ready to explore dishes that don’t require meat and still provide a lot of flavors! First stop Ethiopia! Every dish is aromatic and flavorful using lots of vegetables, garlic, ginger, and an Ethiopian spice called berbere containing cumin, chilis, cardamom, and more!

This class is part of a series led by Chef Alexa on plant-based cuisine. A plant-based diet focuses on natural, minimally processed foods made from plants that meet our daily nutritional needs and encourages a healthy lifestyle. These classes will teach you the simple how-to’s of plant-based cooking: how-to cook with different ingredients, how-to substitute proteins, and how-to-use various cooking methods to make your meal delicious. You will receive great options and recipes for plant-based and vegan mains, sides, desserts, and appetizers. These recipes contain no animal products and can be enjoyed by you, your family, friends, and all your guests. The goal is to make vegetables the star of the plant and provide flavorful dishes that focus on heart-healthy, high fiber, and low sugar for healthy aging.

 This event is FREE, but registration is REQUIRED. Please do not opt out of event-related emails,  as you will be emailed a link to join the class via Zoom prior to the event.

For more information, contact AARP New York at nyaarp@aarp.org.

Details

Date:
September 7
Time:
11:30 am - 12:30 pm EDT
Event Category:
Website:
https://aarp.cventevents.com/event/26ecf478-bb5e-4df5-b580-ee808df871ab/regProcessStep1
© 2022 Eat Off Art. All rights reserved | Design & Develop by Breland Designs LLC.