Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Cooking Class: Explore Plant-Based Caribbean-Inspired Cuisine

September 14 @ 11:30 am - 12:30 pm EDT

Cooking Class: Explore Plant-Based Caribbean-Inspired Cuisine

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2022
From 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. ET || 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m. PT

Virtual
Online

Learn to make a Caribbean-Inspired meal with Buffalo’s own Chef Alexa!

 Join AARP New York and attendees from around the U.S. for a FREE virtual event  Wednesday, September 14, 2022, at 11:30 a.m. ET | 10:30 a.m. CT | 9:30 a.m. MT |  8:30 a.m. PT  – AARP membership not required. This event is part of a series.

Get your kitchen passport ready to explore dishes that don’t require meat but provide a lot of flavors! Next, we head to Jamaica, incorporating jerk and curry spices, rice, coconut milk, and more! The wonderful and unique blend of seasonings and ingredients that come from Jamaica makes for a distinct cultural culinary experience.

This class is part of a series led by Chef Alexa on plant-based cuisine A plant-based diet focuses on natural, minimally processed foods made from plants that meet our daily nutritional needs and encourages a healthy lifestyle. These classes will teach you the simple How-Tos of Plant Based cooking. How-to cook with different ingredients, How-to Substitute Proteins, How-to use various cooking methods to make your meal delicious. You will receive some great options and recipes for Plant-Based and Vegan Mains, Sides, Desserts, and appetizers. These recipes contain no animal products and can be enjoyed by you, your family, friends, and all your guests. The goal is to make vegetables the star of the plant and provide flavorful dishes that focus on “heart healthy, high fiber, low sugar for healthy aging” that you can make over and over again.

Together let’s learn and understand what plant-based is and the many benefits of this lifestyle!

This event is FREE, but registration is REQUIRED. Please do not opt out of event-related emails,  as you will be emailed a link to join the class via Zoom prior to the event.

For more information, contact AARP New York at nyaarp@aarp.org.

Details

Date:
September 14
Time:
11:30 am - 12:30 pm EDT
Website:
https://aarp.cventevents.com/event/a94e5846-9a7e-41f8-a60f-7fc792eae878/regProcessStep1
© 2022 Eat Off Art. All rights reserved | Design & Develop by Breland Designs LLC.